A blood test showed my GFR at 87 and a more recent one showed it’s 105. At the first visit, at 87, the doctor told me i was in stage 2. What does the new number mean. Am I getting better or worse than the first visit, when he said I was in stage 2? Also, what supplements or prescription medicine, should I stay away from?

I am not sure about the advice given to you by your doctor.  If these GFR’s are based on the MDRD or other estimating equation to estimate the glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) then these values are normal.  We do not classify Stage 1 or Stage 2 chronic kidney disease (CKD) based only on the eGFR.  If your eGFR is above 60, this is normal and the estimating equations are not very accurate with estimating GFR above 60.  I would re-consult your physician about this advice.  You would need to have abnormal urine test or abnormal kidney x-rays in order to classify you as having CKD.

This entry was posted in Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.