I am a thirty year old white female with an eGFR (Non African American) of 58 mL/min/1.73. My BUN (13 mg/dL) and creatinine (0.7 mg/dL) were within normal limits. What is the average eGFR for someone of my race, sex, and age? My doctor said I should only be concerned if the value is high at my next routine check up. Should I retest sooner?

I believe someone has made an error in calculation. I suggest that you go to our web site and calculate this for yourself. As I calculate the information that you provide, I do not get 58 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared. I suggest you re-calculate this at our eGFR site at: http://www.kidney.org/professionals/kdoqi/gfr_calculator.cfm

This entry was posted in Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.