I am a 51 year old female with high blood pressure, low thyroid, previous, mild stroke, degenerative disc disease, depression and menopause. My mother lost one of her kidneys to cancer and my half sister lost both her kidneys to PKD and had dialysis for six years and at the age of 50. She was very fortunate to receive a kidney from an anonymous three year old child. She makes me worry about my kidneys, rightfully so, and with everything she has been thru. I smoke 3-5 cigarettes a day, consume beer, and I take about the same number of various medications as she does to prevent kidney rejection. My doctor has checked me for PKD and I don’t have it, but I worry about the medications effect on my kidneys and if they could be doing more harm than good. Is there a certain test my doctor can run that would be any more definitive than a blood test or is that enough?

Your doctor should perform a blood test that includes a serum creatinine so that the estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) can be measured and you should also have a urine test for blood and protein. If these are normal then you do not have kidney disease. You should stop smoking as this is definitely associated with progressive kidney disease.

This entry was posted in Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Polycystic Kidney Disease. Bookmark the permalink.