I am writing you, because I am searching about information of Anti-GBM. I am a female, 43 years old, I had recently (6 months ago) a test for my creatinine and it was fine 1.11 in an interval 0-0.95, a little bit higher because I only have one Kidney (the intern physician told me so). During the past weekend I took an immune test antibodies, because recently I had iris inflammation, and I was curious to know if I am positive. My Anti-GBM was 43 in a 0-20 range RU/ML, and my ANA, type granular 1:3200 in a range 1:100 . The cANCA and the pANCA were negative. I am in Suzhou, China, and here they didn´t say which technique they used to read if IFI or ELISA. I did all my exams 6 months ago when I was in Colombia, and my glomerular filtration was perfect and I do not have protein excretion, my microalbumin was fine I do not have any symptoms. I have to go to a doctor here in China, but it is very difficult due to the language. In your experience, what could you suggest me to verify that my only kidney is fine?? I am sorry to bother you, but I am worry about it.. I am very healthy, no smoking, no drinking, workout twice a day, 5 days a week.. so, I really do not understand…. eating healthy too. I do not have kids. Please, if you can help me or suggest whom I can talk it will be very appreciated.

Anti-glomerular basement membrane (Anti-GBM) antibody testing is done to look for glomerulonephritis that is manifested by a reduction in the estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) and blood and protein in the urine (increase in albumin in the urine or albuminuria). The positive test does not mean anything if you do not have either lung disease (such as coughing up blood or shortness of breath) and do not have a glomerulonephritis associated with a disease called Goodpasture Syndrome. .  The positive Anti-nuclear antibody (ANA) test could suggest systemic lupus erythematosis (SLE) but again, unless you have symptoms or other findings, it may not mean anything.  I suggest that you have blood work to measure your serum creatinine and use this test to calculate your eGFR.  You can use the equation that we have on our web site to perform the calculation.  See our web site at:  https://www.kidney.org/professionals/KDOQI/gfr_calculator

You should also have a urinalysis to look for blood and protein in your urine.  If these tests are normal, then it is difficult to say that you have any kidney disease, despite having only one kidney.  The blood testing for Anti-GBM and ANA is not used to make the diagnosis unless you have kidney disease to begin with.  The iris inflammation (iritis) can be a sign of SLE but it can mean many other diseases as well.  I suggest that you find a physician who speaks your language and ask for an examination.

For more information on Goodpastures syndrome click here:

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Goodpasture's Symdrome, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.