I was just diagnosed with Stage 3 CKD yesterday. My GFR is 33. In May, blood tests showed that it was 36, and this last January it was 49. My new nephrologist said that I shouldn’t have to worry about dialysis for 7 years, but I am very worried about how fast my GFR is going down. What do you suggest I should do to keep things from getting worse so fast?

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  I suggest that you consult with your nephrologist and ask for a specific diagnosis and treatment plan.  I find the decline in your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) to be concerning and would suggest further clarification from your nephrologist.

For more information on kidney disease click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.