Hi, I was diagnosed with hydronephrosis last year and had to have a pyeloplasty in January where they also found an extra crossing vessel as well. Kidney function is normal in both kidneys but my right kidney is still baggy and has scar tissue. I still get pain now and I’m on preventative co-amoxyclav. I’m wondering what my risk is during pregnancy?

If your kidney function is now normal, this should not affect the pregnancy, except that you will be more prone to urinary tract infections.  Urinary tract infections are very common in pregnancy and can lead to complications for the pregnancy and the baby.  I suggest that you contact your obstetrician and your primary care physician about monitoring during any pregnancy that you plan.
For more information on Hydronephrosis click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Birth Defects/Urinary Tract Abnormalities, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Pregnancy / Kids, Urinary Tract Infection/Pyelonephritis. Bookmark the permalink.