Dr Spry: I have stage 3 kidney disease (creatinine 1.7. GFR 39). I am scheduled for a colonoscopy and a prescription for SUPREP BOWEL PREP SOLN was called in by the Doctor performing the colonoscopy. This solution contains sodium sulfate, potassium sulfate and magnesium sulfate…Is it safe for me to use this prep for my already compromised kidneys?

I do not recommend colon preparation laxatives that contain magnesium for patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  The safest preparation is to use a laxative that contains polyethylene glycol (PEG) with electrolytes (Miralax, Glycolax and others).  I suggest that you visit with your physician about this issue.

For more information on Colonoscopy click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function, Nephrologist, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.