I am finding conflicting opinions as to whether nuts and beans are bad for people with stage 3 Kidney disease. I follow the DASH diet which says they are O.K. but am now being told that nuts are considered proteins and should not be eaten. I also have pre diabetes and am not on any meds.

I am an advocate for the DASH diet in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  Unsalted nuts should not pose a problem for patients with Stage 3 CKD.  I suggest that you review your concerns with your physician.  It is important to know how much protein is in your diet.  I generally recommend that you limit your protein intake to between 0.8 and 1.2 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight that is adjusted to your lean body mass.  If you are concerned about the protein in your diet, I suggest you consult with a dietitian who is familiar with diets in patients with CKD.  You may need to discuss your pre-diabetes with the dietitian as well.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.