I had my non-functioning atrophied kidney removed when when I was 12 years old. I am 64, caucasian, and overweight. I have had GFR readings between 48 – 60 for ten years or more. My current reading is 48. Is this kidney desease, or does a person functioning on one kidney expect lower readings?

A person with a single kidney is prone to develop chronic kidney disease (CKD).  If you have a normal single kidney, you would expect your estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) to be between 50 and 70 milliliter per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  Hence, from your description, you may well have CKD.  I also recommend that you have urine testing for blood, protein and infection to assist in the diagnosis of CKD.  You should discuss this with your physician.

For more information on CKD click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrectomy / One kidney. Bookmark the permalink.