If I have one kidney (was removed at birth) and my cheating ex-boyfriend was just diagnosed with HSV 2. My doctor tells me the only thing I have to worry about is the symptoms which have been mild. But I think she forgot I only have the one kidney. Am I being over paranoid? Are there additional risk factors with this STD when only one kidney is present?

A herpes simplex type 2 (HSV-2) infection should not pose any complications for a single kidney.  The medication may have to be dosed based on your current level of kidney function.  I would ask your doctor about dosing any medication that she gives you.

For more information on living with one kidney click here:

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrectomy / One kidney, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.