In Dec 2015, my eGFR (first time it was ever done) was 54.91. In August 2016 my eGFR was 58.89. Complete bloodwork was done because I’ve been really fatigued and not feeling well. I also have RA and osteoarthritis, and food and seasonal allergies. I don’t drink alcohol or caffeine. I drink lots of water. I am at my ideal weight and am extremely active and I’m 62. No high BP, cholesterol numbers good. I currently take Hydroxychloroquine, Ranitidine, and Meloxicam. In the past, I took diclofenac for 6 yrs (which caused stomach damage, and then took omeprazol for 2 years, then switched to ranitidine). After researching the kidney foundation site, I followed up with my doctor about the low readings and his response was that 54 and 59 are “barely out of range”, so we’ll just follow up again in a few months. Is he right to not worry about this, or should I push for more testing/follow-up?

This may be early Stage 3 chronic kidney disease (CKD).  If you are otherwise healthy and following your doctor’s advice, there may not be anything that can be added to your treatment.  Monitoring your kidney function may be the only actions that need to be taken.  I would follow your doctor’s advice.

For more information on GFR click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.