I have had an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) of 58 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared for greater than 3 months, (from 2012 to present, with past 3 tests being 5 months apart). Does this rate alone mean I have Stage 3a CKD? All other blood work is within normal range other than positive ANA, (though rheumatologist ruled out lupus, diagnosing me with osteoarthritis & fibromyalgia) If I have kidney issues, how do I go about, or what do I request, to identify underlying cause? If I don’t have protein in my urine, do I still need to limit protein?

Under the staging system developed by the National Kidney Foundation (NKF), your testing would qualify you as having Stage 3a chronic kidney disease (CKD).  I am unable to tell you why you have kidney disease.  You must be evaluated by your physician with further testing to include a complete history and physical examination in order to determine if the cause of your CKD can be identified.  I suggest further consultation with your physician.

For more information on CKD click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.