I’m a 34 y/o old woman with a 20 yrs kidney transplant. Eight years ago I had a healthy baby boy. My pregnancy was high risk with high blood pressure complications. I would love to have another child but am unsure after the difficulties with my first one. How common is it for women to have babies after kidney transplants? Would you recommend it?

Women with kidney transplants can and do have successful pregnancies, but have a greater risk of complications.  I recently wrote an article in the Huffington Post about this issue.  I suggest that you read my article at: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/leslie-spry-md-facp/women-with-chronic-kidney_b_10163148.html

For more information on kidney transplant and pregnancy click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Pregnancy / Kids, Transplantation. Bookmark the permalink.