I am a very healthy person but I have high cholesterol which I took Lipitor for, my blood work was normal. The doctor did not do any blood work on me until 4 years later and I had to make the appointment that I should have my cholesterol checked and then I asked him if I need my blood work done? It came back that I had stage 4 CKD!!! How does that happen in 4 years? Obviously got a new doctor.

Chronic kidney disease (CKD) is commonly asymptomatic and cannot be diagnosed without performing blood and urine testing on a regular basis.  Patients with high cholesterol are at risk for hardening of the arteries (atherosclerosis) as a cause of kidney disease.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR. Bookmark the permalink.