Please help. I need to know if there is only one way to treat my situation. May of 2014, I had a partial nephrectomy of my left kidney due to RCC. Ever since they have found I have MSK, severe collections on both kidneys. As of now, I am aware I have an E. coli bacteria inside the stones of each kidney. I have just come home from yet another hospital stay, 4 days due to an extreme kidney infection. This occurs every several months, and I end up receiving IV antibiotics, INVANZ, for about 3-4 weeks. This I have been told will not long term help my kidneys, but they have said they don’t know what else to do. I am deperate for help. The pain and off and on fevers are the worse, and I haven’t been able to return to work since last year. I can travel and do whatever it takes if you can offer any other alternatives to this getting better?

There is no treatment for Medullary Sponge Kidney (MSK) disease.  This is a condition of the kidney that you were born with and is associated with abnormal pockets on the sides of kidney tubules that result in calcium deposits in the substance of the kidney.  I am not aware that MSK is associated with cancers of the kidney.  In some cases, acid can build up in the blood and require treatment with alkalinizing medications.

I am not able to recommend medical treatments without performing a complete history and physical examination.  This is an educational blog and I do not see medical consultations from the blog.  I suggest that you review your situation with your urologist and your nephrologist in cooperation with your primary care physician (PCP).

For more information on MSK click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medullary Sponge Kidney, Nephrologist, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.