Good morning Dr. Spry, I recently reviewed my recent blood work results and after researching that the different tests mean, I’m concerned that I may be showing signs of a kidney issue (note: My grandmother died of Leukemia). My GFR is 60, and my Albumin is 4.9. My ALK Phos is 127, and my Anion Gap is 18. My research indicates that this could mean a possible issue, especially since the GFR has been 60 for my previous 2 blood tests, as well. My ALT is 9, and my CRP is 1.2. My SPEP is 6.6 (noted-“Borderline decreased gamma globulin is seen, no abnormal bands observed”). Thanks very much for your help. If my doctor doesn’t contact me with any concerns, should I bring it to her attention?

I do suggest that you have a urine test for blood, protein and infection.  This may point to some kidney disease.  Otherwise, I am unable to make any diagnosis of kidney disease based on the information that you present.  I suggest you discuss your concerns with your physician.

For more information on tests to measure kidney function click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Microalbuminuria, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.