I have had transplant 1 yr ago. Things are going well. Recently, I have forgotten to take my evening transplant meds on 3 different occasions. Tac-2.5mg and Mycophenolate 500mg. What should I do?

I would not double up on medications, but this is a concern.  Missed doses can result in rejection and loss of the kidney.  I suggest that you contact your transplant center when you miss a dose.  This will let them know that they may need to adjust the interpretation of your transplant drug levels, especially for tacrolimus.  In addition, tacrolimus now comes as a single, once daily dosing form and this could be a consideration for you.  Mycophenolate comes only in twice daily dosing, so you would still have to take some drugs twice daily.

For more information on transplantation click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Medication and Kidney Disease, Transplantation, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.