I have had two transplants. A pancreas transplant in 2001 and a kidney transplant in 2007. The pancreas is doing great, but my kidney is failing and I am on the list again. My question is this, they said that my kidney is failing due to scarring from the anti-rejection medicine. How do I know the next one won’t do this?

There is no way to forecast if your future kidney could be affected by anti-rejection medications.  This is always a risk with kidney transplantation. In today’s transplant patient, we carefully follow drug levels to try and avoid toxicity of these medications.  I suggest that you discuss your concerns with your transplant physician.

For more information on Immunosuppressants click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist, Symptoms and Side Effects, Transplantation. Bookmark the permalink.