Hi.. I am 46 year old female. I feel very well and and I work out hard on average 6 days a week upto to 2 to 2.5 hours per day. I have learnt today my GFR has been up and down but below 60 (54 and 57 from memory) since 2012 and earliest blood test result. No family history that I am aware of. Lower back pain regularly but comes and goes. Large amounts of clear non smelly discharge over the years from vagina and rectum (no idea if related but never explained…) GFR low before I started taking furosemide for water retention in 2014. My doctor has told me today to stop and repeat blood in a month. Apart from the termination of this drug and I will lessen my alcohol intake (currently approx. 14 units a week) is there anything else I can do?

It sounds like you lead a healthy life style.  I suggest you follow a low salt diet and maintain a healthy body weight.  I am a proponent of the DASH diet.  You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

You should not smoke.  You should have urine and blood testing for kidney disease at least every year.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing. Bookmark the permalink.