I use automatic blood pressure monitor at home to check bp. It has a tolerance limit of +_ 3 mm. Do you recommend your patient to use such monitor. My query is because I got two opposite opinion from two nephrologist about this monitor. I thought it is easy to use and have been using branded machine by OMRON. Secondly, I understand that diastolic pressure is important for kidney and should be maintained below 80. Of course I am also been told systolic pressure be maintained in a range 140 to 150. I had my kidney transplant done in 2014 and my creatinine level ranges from 1.2 to 1.3. Is it a concern? I am 58 and eGFR is 58 to 60. Which method one should use calculate eGFR? MDRD gives lower eGFR.

I do support my patients using home blood pressure monitors and bring results in for me to review.  Using the home cuff will give your physician more information to assist in making recommendations for your care.  I use my target for blood pressures to average less than 140/80.  There may be reasons to use a lower number in certain instances.

I suggest you review our web site about the calculator for estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) which can be found at:  https://www.kidney.org/professionals/kdoqi/gfr

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.