My Mom was on dialysis for 7 years. She was 77 and was watching her diet, stopped milk (a big deal for her). She had a minor ischemic incident in January 2015. We got her to the hospital immediately and she was discharged 2 days later with only a follow up with her primary Doctor. As she had no symptoms from this event. She was more tired then usual after this event and her primary Doctor said it was to be expected and everything else was good. On Feb 29, she had dialysis and the checklist after was all good, no infections etc. Early Sunday (Mar. 1) morning (2:00 am) I found her sitting on the toilet, I do not know how long she was there but she couldn’t get up and I was unable to help her because she said I was hurting her. She seemed okay, knew her name, birthday, president current events etc., just didn’t know the exact date. Took her to the hospital, they put her in ICU and on Monday (March 2) told me I could take her home later that day or night they just wanted to do some tests. On March 4 in the morning they got blood tests back positive for sepsis. Late that afternoon (5:30 pm) they transferred her out of ICU then brought her back. She told me they were giving her “fake dialysis” and she passed away March 13, 2015. She went to dialysis 3 times a week and when I read the hospital report she had only 3 treatments, one of them her weight did not change at all, after 4 hours of dialysis. Is there ever a chance that you don’t lose liquid after 4 hours dialysis and go to your “dry weight”? Also where can I find the lab definitions for normal kidney function to compare with hers? I thank you in advance for any information you could provide. I know she had 10 years left in her.

Hemodialysis can be done with no fluid removal.  Hemodialysis involves both removal of fluid (known as ultrafiltration) and dialysis treatment that removes chemicals and toxins.  I have no idea what a “fake dialysis” might mean.

You can ask the laboratory at the hospital for their normals.  Each laboratory maintains normal values for their particular testing equipment.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Failure, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.