I am 61 yrs old, have stage 3B CKD (1.84 creatinine, EGFR=39)with proteinuria, hypertension treated with Telmisartan, Amlodipine, Hydralazine,Clonidine. The last few months the creatinine has been inching up from 1.7’s to what it is now. I am going to to have a Colonoscopy under a general anesthetic because of my sleep apnea. I have read that general anesthetic is not good for compromised kidneys. Is it ok for me to have this done?

I suggest that your nephrologist and the physician who is to perform your colonoscopy consult with each other to determine if there are things that can be done to make your colonoscopy a safe procedure.  General anesthesia has many risks including acute kidney injury.  I suggest that you ask your primary care physician (PCP) to evaluate the risks and then consult with both the nephrologist and the physician who will perform your colonoscopy.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist. Bookmark the permalink.