I had a diverticulitis and was referred to have a ct scan to make sure I didn’t have an abbess. Since the diverticulitis I changed my eating habits. The scan revealed a1.8cm kidney stone in my left kidney lower pole. Should I have the stone removed? Could leaving it cause problems later on? I’m a 62 year old healthy male. Exercise regularly good eating habits don’t drink or smoke. My BMI is 23.9 Your opinion would be greatly appreciated.

Stone disease should be evaluated by a urologist.  The decision about management of kidney stones is a surgical decision and a urologist is a surgeon.  I am a nephrologist and do not perform surgery.  I suggest consultation with a urologist.

For more information on kidney stones click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.