I have suffered with kidney stones for the past 20 years. The first one was a staghorn and had to be surgically removed and they have continued to come back. However, the past month I’ve been exhausted with back and leg pain and constantly itching. I had a blood test and my GFR is 68 Creatinine 86 Urea 2.4 Haemoglobin 161 Mean cell count 103.0. I am very concerned as my mother and brother died from kidney failure :( should I be concerned?

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  The problem that you describe sounds like a urological problem and should be evaluated by a urologist.  I suggest you consult with your primary care physician an see if a urological consultation is appropriate.  Your kidney function appears normal but recurrent kidney stones may require further evaluation.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Treatments, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.