I’m a 22 year old female. I visited my GP with symptoms of fatigue and hypertension. I was diagnosed with coeliac disease three years ago and lead a healthy lifestyle. Through my creatinine measurements my eGFR has gone from 102 (creatinine 67) in 2015 to 84 (creatinine 79) at present. Is this something I should be concerned about? Does creatinine vary like this naturally?

The results that you quote are within the usual variability of laboratory testing.  Unfortunately, our estimating equations and the laboratory testing cannot reliably tell the difference between an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) of 84 and 102 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  The testing and the equation are much better with an eGFR of less than 60.  The numbers that you quote are likely within the normal range for kidney function.

For information on Hypertension click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Serum Creatinine. Bookmark the permalink.