I have CKD stage 3 (diagnosed in America 9 years ago). A few weeks ago, I went to the GP feeling dizzy and light headed, slightly disoriented. Tests were carried out that showed I had iron-deficiency anemia, which I also had 9 years ago. I had colonoscopy and gastroscopy, also CT scan. The CT scan shows a cyst on right kidney and left kidney is “duplex.” MY GFR is 59, which has gone up from 49 nine years ago. They want to do “partial kidney removal,” but the hospital doctor, when asked, says they don’t know if it’s cancer. The doctor at last meeting used the word tumour, not cyst, and indicated it was 1inch big. Is there any chance at all, it could still be benign ? Will the kidney function decrease dramatically after the operation ? I am extremely tired afternoons and need 90-minute nap, also cannot sleep at night . Am taking ferrous sulphate tablets, losartan potassium and amlodipine, listoretic (diuretic) for high blood pressure.

The problem that you describe is a urological problem.  I am a nephrologist and do not perform surgery.  I recommend that you consult with a urologist.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney Mass, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrectomy / One kidney, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.