I just found out I had high cholesterol. The cholesterol LDL 173 HDL 72 trig 99 and my nephrologist suggests to take a a statin. I’ve been transplanted for 19 years. I am on a transplant list for four years and I feel really good and doing well. I have diabetes that’s controlled and hypertension that’s controlled. My weight is 128. My diet is fairly good low protein and low fat. I’m confused about take the pill at this point trying to stay at this good level but my question to you is should I take the statin and what would be the damage to my kidney if I did?

The most common cause of death and disability for patients with diabetes and chronic kidney disease (CKD) is heart disease.  Hence, the statin is used to prevent heart disease.  I recommend that you follow your nephrologist’s advice.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Disease. Bookmark the permalink.