My husband has stage 5 CKD and will begin dialysis next week; his kidney function is down to 5. The gave me a book that lists food to eat. It has some fruits and vegetables and meat. What I don’t see is pasta, rice, or potatoes. Are these okay to eat or should he avoid them?

Your husband’s diet should be recommended by a dietitian or his nephrologist based on knowledge of his current medical status and his blood chemistry.  I am unable to recommend a diet without seeing your husband or knowing his current medical status.  I suggest you review the diet with a dietitian or a nephrologist.

For general information about dialysis and diet please click here.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.