Hi Dr. Leslie Spry, I have recently been diagnosed with a problem in my Left Kidney and have done a CT scan, the result is below Left Renal Fossa: Well defined lobulated cystic area measuring 10 x 8.4 x 9.6 cms (AP x TR x CC) noted in the left renal fossa, left kidney is not visualized separately from the lesion. * It shows few foci of peripheral wall calcification * It shows peripheral thin enhancing parenchyma on delay scans * No obvious enchancing thick septations noted * Perilesional fat planes are well maintained * Patent left renal vein noted * Two tiny arterial branches are seen arising from the aorta and supplying the cystic wall * Left ureter is not visualized * No excretion of contrast Impression: Well defined lobulated cystic area in the left renal fossa – Diagnostic possibilities are 1) Congenital cystic dysplastic kidney 2) Chronic left PUJ obstruction. The doctors here are suggesting me to remove that, can you please let me know your opinion?

The problem that you describe is a urological and surgical problem.  I am a nephrologist and am not a surgeon.  I do not have any expertise in this area.  If you are concerned, I suggest that you seek a second opinion from another urologist.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist, Treatments, Urological Issues. Bookmark the permalink.