I have been on peritoneal dialysis for 5 years and was being evaluated for transplant. While in the testing process, I was told that I did not qualify for transplant apparently due to a problem with my heart. I have a Cardiologist that had already cleared me for transplant. I am confused, what kind of heart problem would cause the panel to reject me? Is there any hope for me? I feel like all hope is gone now and I don’t think I can handle this. Thank you in advance for any information you can provide. It is hard for me to accept the fact that there is no hope.

You should ask your nephrologist to explain your heart disease.  I do not know why a transplant service would over-rule a cardiology opinion.  You may also ask to be evaluated by another transplant center.  Each transplant center has the ability to independently determine who can be placed on the transplant list.  Different centers have different criteria.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Transplantation, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.