What should I take to improve my kidney function (PKD). Currently I am on dialysis twice a week. I am taking Blokium 100 and one alpha/day. A Venofer injection and Epokin 10000/week also taken. Urine volume is 50 ml and BP is 150/105 after blokium/day. What should I take to increase urine and lower my blood pressure as well as to improve kidney function?

Standard hemodialysis is done at least three times weekly.  There are no medications or treatments that will improve your kidney function while you are on dialysis.  You should dialyze at least three times weekly and you should ask if you are a candidate for dialysis at home or kidney transplantation.  Kidney transplantation is the best treatment for kidney disease, once you are on dialysis.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Transplantation, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.