Hi, I am a Stage 4 kidney disease patient. My creatinine level is 219, my gfr is 22. My last blood tests showed by Hb level is 109, but they would rather hold back on treatment until it falls to 100. I am starting to feel fatigue and weakness. Would it be possible for me to take wheat grass juice? My potassium level is always in range.

I have no experience with wheat grass juice.  I am not aware of any study that has evaluated the use of wheat grass in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD).  I suggest that you discuss this with your physician.  If you decide to use what grass juice, it would be advisable to monitor your kidney function testing and your electrolytes, including your potassium.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Herbal Supplements in Kidney Disease/Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.