I donated a kidney to my Mom over 23 years ago and have been very healthy. I was diagnosed with HBP three years ago. Recently, my BP med has not been as effective, so my doctor has recommended Bisoprolol Fumarate. Should I be concerned?

There is a slight increase in the risk for high blood pressure and protein in the urine after donating a kidney for transplantation.  I suggest careful follow up and make sure your blood pressure remains less than 130/80.  I recommend that you monitor your blood pressure at home and have regular blood and urine tests to monitor your kidney function.

For more information on living with one kidney click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Hypertension/High Blood Pressure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects. Bookmark the permalink.