I have been told I have stage 3 kidney disease. What are the preventative measures I should be taking to decrease the progression of this? Are there medications that are especially harmful to kidneys? (naproxen, chlorthalidone, pravastatin, omeprazole).

In general, I recommend following a low salt DASH diet for patients with Stage 3 chronic kidney disease (CKD).  You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

I recommend 150 minutes of extra physical activity per week.  I recommend monitoring your blood pressure at home and trying to maintain your blood pressure less than 130/80.  I recommend maintaining a healthy body weight, not smoking, and avoid excessive alcohol intake.  I recommend avoiding non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID’s) such as Motrin, Ibuprofen, Advil and Aleve.  I recommend at least annual review by your physician to include blood and urine testing for CKD.  If you do all of these things, these are the best thing you can do to slow progression of CKD.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Disease, Medication and Kidney Function. Bookmark the permalink.