I have IgA nephropathy (gfr 55). I have dry eyes and have been searching for some type of remedy for some time. Recently a new medication has come to market by the name of Xiidra. My opthamologist has prescribed it for me and I have just started to use these eye drops? I am wondering if this medication or any other eye drops can potentially harm my kidney function?

I do not know of any ill effects of eye drops on kidney function.  I am not familiar with Xiidra, but kidney injury is not listed as a concern for the medication.

For more information on IgA click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, IgA Nephropathy/IgA Dominant Glomerulonephritis, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Disease, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.