I recently was cleared to be a kidney donor and have been doing research on life after kidney donation. I met with the transplant team and have had my questions answered, but want to reach out regarding weightlifting and nutrition post kidney donation. After resting the suggested 6 weeks, will I be able to return to lifting? Other than not consuming excessive protein, are there any other dietary restrictions I should be aware of? Are there any supplements I should consider adding to my diet? I.e. multivitamin?

After surgery like this, a release to return to weight lifting is best answered by your surgeon.  Weight lifting will not affect your single kidney and would have no adverse effects on your kidney function, but because of the surgical changes and healing after the surgery, it is best to get clearance from your surgeon for weight lifting.

I do not think you would need to take a multiple vitamin.  I do recommend a low salt diet and am an advocate for the DASH diet.  You can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

For more information on living donation click here:

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Living Donation. Bookmark the permalink.