Can you tell me how much phosphorous per day is recommended for a patient on hemodialysis? I can find what my numbers should be and there is plenty information available on food values, but I can’t find how many mg or grams I should have per day.

The normal and otherwise healthy American will eat about 1400 – 1600 milligrams of phosphate per day.  We recommend that patients on dialysis take in about 800 to 1000 milligrams per day and limit high phosphorus foods such as milk and dairy products.  You may wish to discuss this with a dietitian as well.  Different foods have differing amounts of phosphorus that can be absorbed by the gut (termed bioavailability) and this can make translating phosphorus listed on labels into dietary absorption very challenging.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.