I have been on dialysis for the last 11 months. My Urea is now 18.56. During the last three months I started to lose my appetite and have strange taste in my mouth. My creatinine was 350 two weeks ago and now is 413. This is affecting my health as well as losing weight. Can you help to steer away from fluids or food that worsen the condition I am going through? Thanks and kind regards.

I am unable to make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you provide.  I suggest that you discuss your concerns with the nephrologist who is caring for you.  You may need further testing or you may need more dialysis in order to determine why you are losing appetite and losing weight.  This is not normal for a dialysis patient.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist. Bookmark the permalink.