Hi doctor, I want to ask about the drug Neoral for a hypertensive patient. The doctor prescribed it to her. She has proteinuria. Is it good? and I want to know also if it has interaction with Atorvastatin and Amlodipine and Zyloric. Also I want to know about the side effects because I read that it is immunosuppressant. Thanks.

Cyclosporine (Neoral) is a immunosuppressant medication that has many side effects including drug interactions with all the medications that you list.  It should be monitored carefully by measuring levels of cyclosporine in the blood and monitoring for toxicity.  It can interact with many other drugs as well.  It is used to treat certain kidney diseases (glomerulonephritis) that can cause protein in the urine (proteinuria).  I suggest that her physician monitor this treatment very carefully.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.