Hi, I’m 34, female and have SLE (lupus) for about 16 years. Currently the protein in my urine is 2.82 and the doctor has put me on 500mg MYCOPHENOLATE MOFETIL (MMF), but I usually take it for a month and then my white blood cell drops below 4.That’s always the problem when treating my protein in urine. I think this is currently the only major problem preventing me from becoming pregnant, because my husband and I want to start a family, but the doctor told me it’s not the right time because of the protein in my urine. Is there something else I can do besides using my meds.

Systemic lupus erythematosis (Lupus or SLE)is a very dangerous disease for the kidney and also for pregnancy.  This is a very complicated disease that can cause injury to your kidney, injury to you and injury to a developing fetus.  Hence, it is important that this disease be controlled before you become pregnant. I am unable to give medical advice without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I suggest that you discuss your concerns with your physicians and try to understand the difficult problems that you face.  You may be able to consider adoption, if the disease cannot be controlled.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Birth Defects/Urinary Tract Abnormalities, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.