I am 52 year old male I have some problems with my kidneys. In the year 2000 of December, suddenly my BP level became very high 150/220. I went to Hospital for checkup and then I found in my report that I had my creatinine level 2.2 and protein discharged from my urine. It has been posted to the Community. Check back in about 24 hours for your response. An easy way to quickly access this page again is to bookmark it right now on your browser. My kidneys size found shrink in ultrasound report. After 3 months, my creatinine level came down to 1.6 and other reports became normal. Recently, I did my ultrasound again and my kidneys size become almost normal. My creatinine level retain under 1.5 to 1.7 and other reports are normal. Please suggest me that what I can do for my healthy life as I am doing bodybuilding exercise 3 times in a week and doing Pranayam (Yoga) exercise daily in the morning.

I suggest that you monitor your blood pressure and make sure the blood pressure is less than 130/80.  I suggest that you eat a low salt healthy diet.  I am an advocate for the DASH diet and you can review the DASH diet at:  https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/dash

I suggest that you maintain a healthy life style and healthy body weight.  You should not smoke and not drink alcohol to excess.  You should continue to exercise and increase your physical activity.  If you are body building, you should not lift excessive weight and avoid power lifting.

You should avoid using non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID’s) such as ibuprofen and naproxen for pain.

If you do all these things, these are the actions you can take to keep your kidneys healthy.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Exercise, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.