How low is too low on sodium? I was getting under 1000Mgs., or less, a day. I started increasing it to about 1300. My doctors say under 2000. I use my computer and Fit Bit to track my sodium intake. Also how much protein is required to be safe on a low protein diet?

The National Kidney Foundation, the Centers for Disease Control and the American Heart Association all recommend 22300 milligrams of sodium intake per day. Hence, I recommend that same number.  There is not extra benefit from achieving a sodium intake less than 2300 milligrams.  As far as protein intake, I am not a big fan of protein restriction.  I recommend between 0.8 and 1.2 grams of protein intake per kilogram of body weight per day.

For more information on Nutrition and CKD  click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Diet/Nutrition, Kidney-Related Health Questions. Bookmark the permalink.