Hello sir. I am having a query regarding my fianceé, who is 30 yrs old and who is having one dormant kidney since the birth as it was not properly grown. He is spending life very well and haven’t experienced any problem or pain yet. As I am marrying him, I would like to have your guidance regarding the precautions to take in future life and what side effects or consequences could be there of this kidney in the body. Kindly reply to the query.

Many people live a normal and uneventful life with a single kidney.  I do not think there is anything that would interfere with a marriage as far as having a single functioning kidney.  I would recommend that he have urine and blood testing for kidney function at least once per year.

For more information on living with one kidney click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrectomy / One kidney. Bookmark the permalink.