Hi Dr. My name is Jennifer. I am a 54 year old with complicated health issues. I just need some hope or answers because my doctors that are working with me don’t seem to care or explain things to me when I do see them. First, I have type 2 diabetes, with congestive heart failure. My ejection fraction is 25%. And I also have chronic kidney disease stage 4 on the verged or stage five. My numbers are 8.5 right now. My doctors mention to me I have high potassium in my blood. I will need to go on dialysis. Is there anyway I can live being on dialysis with all my health issues? I’m so worried. Your information will be much appreciated.

You are correct that you have very complicated health issues.  I cannot recommend medical treatments without performing a complete history and physical examination.  I do recommend that you continue follow up with your nephrologist and ask questions about your disease and treatment.  There are several good dialysis education programs that you could attend for education about dialysis.  I suggest that you ask your nephrologist about attending a pre-dialysis education program.  You can also go to our web site and learn about chronic kidney disease (CKD) and dialysis.  I suggest you visit our web site at:  https://www.kidney.org/kidneydisease/

You may need to have your primary care physician (PCP) coordinate consults between your nephrologist and your cardiologist so as to get maximum information about your kidney disease and heart disease.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diabetes, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Medication and Kidney Function, Nephrologist, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.