My mother is 92 and is in 4th Stage CKD. We have been asked to start discussing Dialysis. She is in pretty good shape other than this. Her blood pressure is good and her heart is good, and she doesn’t have any other major problems. I was wondering what kind of life expectancy she would be looking at under these conditions. I know you could not be specific, but I was wondering in general terms and past experiences what your opinion would be.

I suggest that you consult with a nephrologist who can examine your mother and assess her prognosis.  I cannot provide a prognosis without performing a complete history and physical examination.  In general, the elderly have a very poor prognosis on dialysis, but there are some elderly that can tolerate the rigors of dialysis treatment.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Dialysis, Kidney Failure, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Nephrologist, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.