I was recently told I have Stage 4 CKD, but I’ve doubted that diagnosis since day 1, as all my labs were perfectly normal, and then suddenly, within days, they weren’t. The only symptoms I’ve had is elevated creatinine and decreased GFR. Kidney ultrasound was normal. When I last saw the nephrologist and questioned why, if I have this horrible disease, diet hadn’t been addressed, he ordered some additional blood tests, over and above what he normally checks for. Phosphorus is normal, Vitamin D is low (it was low a year ago), and my parathyroid is very high (147). Am I possibly correct in believing I may not have CKD? My doctor is away and I can’t ask him.

I am unable to make a diagnosis based on the information that you provide.  The diagnosis of Stage 4 chronic kidney disease (CKD) requires an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) between 15 and 29 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared and it be that eGFR for at least three months.  The elevated parathyroid hormone test is consistent with CKD but could also be related to the low vitamin D level.  I suggest further consultation with your nephrologist and ask for a specific diagnosis as to the cause of the CKD.

 

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Nephrologist. Bookmark the permalink.