Can a program of weight loss lead to a temporary, reversible decrease in GFR and are there any steps to minimize this? In Jan 2016 I was 1.75m tall and weighed 240 lbs. On the advice of my physician, I have followed a program of gradual sustained weight loss. I am still 1.75m but now 200 lbs. Over the same period my GFR has dropped from 84 to 65 ml/min. Could this change in my GFR be related to my weight loss program? and are there any protective steps I can take to minimize this. I am confident that the benefits of the weight loss outweigh(sic) any possible problems but if there is anything I can do to minimize the impact on my renal function whilst I continue to lose further weight towards my target of 170-180 lbs I would be happier. (average loss 1 lb/week, sustained over 10 months).

Diets and exercise that are designed to get you to an ideal body weight are in your best long term interest.  There may be some modest changes in your kidney function that may fluctuate from time to time.  It is difficult to know if these changes will be permanent or transient.  It is best to discuss your concerns with your physician, who is helping to supervise the weight loss program.  It is also best to continue to monitor these changes with both blood testing and urine testing looking for changes that may concern your physician.  The measurement of estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) is less accurate when these measurements are greater than 60 milliliters per minute per 1.73 meters squared.  I suggest you discuss these measurements with your physician.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, Diet/Nutrition, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.