I have been diagnosed with stage 2 of CKD. Can you advise how harmful is a heart catherization to the kidneys if the test is required? My physician has considered recommending I have the test but I am afraid it will damage my kidneys.

I am unable to assess the risk of contrast for heart catheterization without performing a complete history and physical examination.  It is best if you express your concerns to the physicians who are caring for you and ask for consultation with your primary care physician (PCP) in making recommendations for the risk and benefits of performing a heart catheterization.  The risk is likely small but should be discussed with you before you make any final decisions.

 

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Chronic Kidney Disease, GFR, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.