My father is 90 years old, was diagnosed with a kidney stone following a UTI which had him in the hospital for three nights. Now, a month later he is being scheduled for Shock Wave Lithotripsy. He is in very excellent health for his age with no cardiac or cancer history. What are the risks for someone his age?

A shock wave lithotripsy treatment is performed by a urologist.  I am a nephrologist.  I have no experience with lithotripsy.  This is a surgical treatment.  A urologist is a surgeon and you must ask the urologist who will be caring for your father about risks and benefits of treatment.  In most cases, it is my understanding that this is a relatively minor procedure but again, I have no experience with this surgical procedure.

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Blood/Urine Testing For Kidney Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Kidney Stones, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Laboratory Testing, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.