Hi. I always experience back pain. I check my urine examination and it was a negative result but when I test for urine culture and sensitivity, the result is Klebsiella sp. I’m so confused. Can I really get infection even though urine examination is negative. I also had mild hydronephrosis and now the pain is back. Can hydronephrosis be affected by UTI?

I cannot make a specific diagnosis based on the information that you present.  I suggest that you contact your physician and ask for a discussion as to your current symptoms and determine if you have a urinary tract problem that is leading to your symptoms.  Klebsiella is a common bacteria that can cause a urinary tract infection (UTI).  I suggest further consultation with your physician.

For more information on Urinary tract infections click here:

This entry was posted in Ask the Doctor, Kidney-Related Health Questions, Medication and Kidney Disease, Symptoms and Side Effects, Treatments. Bookmark the permalink.